Small Prince Art

Updates Thursdays

The Top Five Worst Books I’ve Read This Year (2012)

on January 11, 2013

The Top Five Worst Books I’ve Read This Year (2012)

So, last week I made a post on the ten best books I read this year.  To balance it out, and because I’ve found that people really like it when people like me talk about how bad things are on the internet, I’ve decided to write about the top ten worst books I read this year.

The problem is, I don’t knowingly read bad books.  Like many people, I don’t expect a book to be bad, it just kind of happens. That’s one of the differences between movies and books; many times you can tell when a movie is going to be bad from the trailer: it may have stilted dialogue, the effects may not look good, it’ll have a ridiculous name, etc. With books, you have to go on the plot summery on the back of the book. There are some signs, like its by an author you don’t really like or you read the premise and think it’s absolutely ridiculous, but I usually find that bad books are usually a surprise.

The point is, I couldn’t come up with a full Top Ten list, so here’s the Top Five Worst Books I read this year. Like the Top Ten Best Books list, these aren’t books that came out this year, I just read them this year. Also, keep in mind that you may not think these book are bad. That’s ok, this is just my opinion.

Without further ado, here’s my picks for the Top Five Worst Books I Read This Year.

a feast for crows 5.  A Song of Ice and Fire: A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin

Part of me feels bad for putting this on the list, but I had to put something for my fifth entry.  Don’t get me wrong, I really like this series, I even put the third book as my entry for the best book I read this year.  I just feel like this is may be the least-good one.

See, the third book, A Storm of Swords, was filled with action and suspense.  It literally changed all expectations for the series. So, when I got to this one, I was excited for this one because I wanted to find out what happened after the events of the last one.  And I get that this book was slow for a reason: the reader probably needed to take a break considering everything that just happened.  That being said, it was almost too slow.  Yes, it was nice to see attention being brought on characters that hadn’t yet had their day in the limelight, but as I said earlier, it was almost too slow.  It honestly felt like the action was brought to a complete halt in some places.

That’s why this is number five, I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t particularly like it either.

 

a living nightmare 4.  Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan

I don’t think I realized how not-good this one was until I was comprising this list, but looking back on it, I realized that there were quite a few flaws in this book.  There were a few two-dimensional side characters, the plotline was a little flimsy at some points, among other things.  Sure, the series got better (after a few bumps along the way), but as a first in the series, it wasn’t a good indicator of things to come.

 

393848_090620202427_Wuthering-Heights-Book 3.  Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

I know this is a classic, but I just couldn’t get into it.  Everyone, and I mean everyone, in this book is unpleasant.  Maybe that’s the point, but eventually I found myself just not caring what happens to these people. Really, what this book was saying is that life sucks, the end, and that’s just not my cup of tea.

However, I do find it funny that this “romance” books frequently mentioned in Twilight. It fits, but I don’t think the way Stephanie Meyer intended.

the vampire prince 2.  Cirque du Freak: The Vampire Prince by Darren Shan

Really, with this one it was the ending that ruined it for me.  I think what happened is that the plot got written into a hole and Shan had to do something to get the protagonist out of the situation. So, he relied on a Dues ex Machina.  Frankly, a pretty hackneyed one.

Yea, like I said in the review, I am not fond of the ending of this book. I didn’t think it was a good way to get the protagonist out of the situation he was in.  Eventually, I got why it happened, but at the time I just very meh about the whole thing.

 

Vampire Mountain1.  Cirque du Freak: Vampire Mountain by Darren Shan

I made excuses for the other ones, but this one was just bad.  It didn’t feel like the a whole novel, it felt like the first few chapters of one.  Really, Vampire Mountain and the two books after it could have just been one novel.  It’s just frustrating to read all this build up for no real payoff. Because of that, I’m putting this at the bottom of the list.

Leave a Reply

