Small Prince Art

Updates Thursdays

100 Banned Books Series: Forever by Judy Blume

on February 7, 2013

forever... by Judy BlumeForever by Judy Blume

(The author of this post is not Emily. I’m her friend, Paige the Writer, currently helping with her 100 Banned Books project. Hello!)

 

Forever by Judy Blume – author of the Fudge series, Deenie, and Then Again, Maybe I Won’t – is the story of eighteen-year-old Katherine’s first love and her first sexual experience. To be honest, it’s the reason Forever was banned, since parents don’t like their innocent children reading about sex. There’s also mention of teenage pregnancy, birth control, and suicide.

 

Now, I’m an avid reader of romance so I really know what I like when it comes to romantic stories. I also know that Forever was written in 1975 and being eighteen in 1975 was probably a very different thing than being eighteen now in 2013. Even so, the things that happened in this story made me roll my eyes so much that I’m surprised they didn’t pop out of my head.

The story was decent; I’m not going to lie. In fact, I finished the book in a little more than an hour and a half as I did find myself invested in Katherine’s trials with Michael – the boyfriend. I really did hope it worked out for the best for them. But there were times when I wanted to punch them both in the face.

Kay, now there might be some SPOILERS, you have been warned.

The book starts as any romantically themed book starts. Boy meets girl and they like each other and they go on a few dates. They fool around some, as teenagers in love do occasionally and Katherine decides that she wants to go all the way with Michael – and Ralph, as he affectionately named his penis. (Insert awwww here)

They don’t seem to have any real problems until the end, as the story is about them having sex. Like seriously, that’s the entire theme of the book. I think this is one of the reasons that I kept eye rolling. Katherine would over react to anyone who acted as if she and Michael were not meant to be – as they were destined to last FOREVER. They use this phrase a lot more often than they should.

you have got to be kidding me

                                                       I swear, it’s like they’re in middle school.

 

While this is going on, Katherine’s bestie is having problems in a story line that, honestly, I found to be much more compelling. Erica has decided that she wants to have sex before college and she’s kind of, sort of, not really edging into a relationship with Michael’s friend Artie. There’s more going on there, development wise, than with Katherine and Michael.

 

This is not a book that you’re going to walk away from with some deep meaning of life. This is something that you walk away from going, ‘alright, that was not a bad way to waste two hours of my life’. It’s a good lazy day read, if you can deal with two eighteen year olds acting a bit like they’re thirteen.

 

Rating: 4.5/10

One response to “100 Banned Books Series: Forever by Judy Blume

  1. Shannon says:

    As a teenage reader of this book in1983, I understand why this book was controversial . Sex between such young people was taboo and writing about it endorsed it. Judy Blume talked about teenage sexuality as a reality.

Leave a Reply

