Small Prince Art

Updates Thursdays

The Demonata: Slawter by Darren Shan

on March 14, 2013

Slawter     The Demonata: Slawter by Darren Shan

Slawter (yes, it’s spelled this way) is the third book in the ten book series The Demonata, which is the second young adult series by Darren Shan, the author Cirque du Freak series. Compared to the Cirque du Freak series these seem to be for a slightly older audience- Cirque du Freak seemed to be geared toward preteens where these are for young to mid teens.


While the last installment, Demon Thief, had a different protagonist, Kernel Fleck, Slawter goes back to the protagonist from the first book Lord Loss, Grubbs Grady. (I think Darren Shan has a thing for odd names). Kernal, along with other characters from Demon Thief are mentioned or make a small appearance in the book, but the only characters from Demon Thief that take a prominent role in Slawter are Dervish, Grubb’s uncle, Lord Loss, the demon lord and the main villain of the series.


Though the ending of Lord Loss implies that Dervish came back from his battle pretty ok, but Slawter shows that he’s still suffering from some serious trauma caused from his time in Lord Loss’s demension. Most of the time, he seems ok, but every once in a while he will have a bad flashback that causes him to lash out at Grubbs. Considering that he was sent to an alternate demention to fight a demon master that hated him with the unholy passion of a thousand suns, half-normalcy is pretty good.

Despite the weird things going on at home, Grubbs is finally getting into a routine of normalcy at school. At this point, he’s gotten used to going to school again and he’s making friends to the other kids at school… which wouldn’t be a problem if it weren’t for the fact that he’s distancing himself from Bill-E, his half-brother (mega plot twist from Lord Loss, oh my god).

On top of all that, Grubbs has to worry about his future, the genetic curse that affected Bill-E, and his now deceased sister Gret and turns members of his family into wolf-like monsters. Grubbs is getting near the age of when most of his relatives turn, so he’s been extra mindful of himself and is looking out for the warning signs of when they are about to turn.

That’s how things are at the beginning of the book, and not too far in we are introduced to the main plot: Dervish has gotten a call from a movie producer, Davida Haym, who wants to use him as a reference for a her newest horror movie called “Slawter” (title drop).

Yeah, I didn’t buy this. Something is definately up here.

Grubbs is super excited, so excited that when he meets a woman on his way home from school asking about Dervish he just assumes that it’s Davida Haym and takes her to his house.

Not his best idea.

Not his best idea.

It turns out that this is Prae Athim, the leader of a group called the Lambs, who try to use science to break the Grady curse, though they are more known for killing off members of the family that have succumbed to the curse. She comes and tries to tell Dervish to hand over Bill-E for study, since they were able to break the curse using Lord Loss.

Of course, Dervish refuses, but this offers an interesting conflict within the story: is it better in the long run for the Grady family to attack the curse incident-by-incident, or attack it at the root and get rid of it? Granted, the incident-by-incident has been the only way to surely get rid of the curse for sure, but often times it doesn’t work and it involves summoning demons, so the Lambs don’t really like that option.

So that happens. Athim leaves without Bill-E, but the incident shakes Grubbs and causes him to be worried about his future.

The next week, Davida Haym actually comes to Dervish’s home, along with her assistant, Juni Swan.  She convinces Dervish to take the job as the consultant for the movie, called Slawter.

Dervish takes Bill-E and Grubbs with him to the movie set, where they hang out with some of the other kids on set. Dervish spends a lot of time working on the demons, and after a while, they are finally revealed to the rest of the cast and crew.

And it’s really convincing… like almost too convincing. In that, Grubbs is pretty sure it’s an actual demon.  Of course, he has also had a whole lot of trauma in the past couple of years, so he’s probably just halucinating… right?


Compared to the other books in the series I’ve read so far, this seemed like a typical fantasy adventure story. It’s told in four parts, the first two are used for build up, the third is used to build suspense before all hell breaks loose, and part four is when all hell breaks loose (literally).

Most of the major characters we’ve already met, but a notable new character is Juni Swan, the assistant to Davida Haym who shows some talent for magic and has a thing for Dervish.

It’s a pretty good read, but I can’t say I liked it as much as I did the last two books in the series. It seemed like just a good middle of the series filler book, but there’s not nothing really wrong with that.


Rating: 7 out of 10.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: