Small Prince Art

Updates Thursdays

The Demonata: Demon Apocalypse by Darren Shan

on June 11, 2013

Demon Apocalypse   The Demonata: Demon Apocalypse by Darren Shan

Demon Apocalypse is the sixth book in the ten book long series, The Demonata by Darren Shan, who also wrote the very popular vampire book series The Cirque du Freak, also known as The Saga of Darren Shan for anyone not in the States.  The Demonata is a whole lot different than his first series, both stylistically and editorially, which shows his growth as a writer and the risks he is willing to take.  The Demonata is a lot more non-linear than Cirque du Freak was, and it also has a more hopeless vibe to it. It also seems like it is meant for an older age group.


Demon Apocalypse picks up right after Blood Beast left off: after Juni Swan, a mage who was dating Grubbs’s uncle/legal guardian, convinces the transforming Grubbs to run from his uncle to escape being executed by the extremist organization: The Lambs, they escape onto a plane headed for freedom– or so Grubbs thought, because it turns out that Juni was on the demons’ side the entire time and has summoned Lord Loss, along with some other demons, onto the plane.

Not his best idea.

Not his best idea.

Scared, Grubbs does his best to fight off the demons, and luckily some familiar faces from the series show up:  Beranabus, an ancient magician who has dedicated his life to finding the Ka-Gash, an ancient weapon that is rumored to be able to destroy the demon universe completely, and Kernal Fleck, a younger mage with the incredible ability to see magical lights that can be put together to make portals to the demon universe. Kernal is another main protagonist of the series, and the second book, Demon Thief, was told through his point of view

They rescue Grubbs and try to convince him to help them in their quest to find the other pieces of the Ka-Gash, but he’s not for it, believing himself to be too much of a coward. However, once new information is revealed about the night that Grubbs and Juni made a break from Carcery Vale, he agrees to helped Beranabus and Kernal to help save his uncle Dervish and his half-brother Bill-E.

After that, the book turns in a race against time to stop the demons from passing through the tunnel that Grubbs and Bill-E accidently dug up in Blood Beast. Stakes are high, the world is at stake, and nothing is as it seems.


The last five books have been building up to something really big, and this book was the thing that it was leading up to.  However, I really can’t say what that thing is, as it affects the entire rest of the series and would give away a ton of the mystery in . Let’s put it this way: we find out more about the Kah-Gash, and what exactly it does, and a whole bunch of characters from earlier in the series appear again to fulfill their role for the battles in the rest of the series.


Rating: 7 out of 10.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: