Small Prince Art

Updates Thursdays

The Demonata: Wolf’s Island by Darren Shan

on July 6, 2013

Wolf's Island    The Demonata: Wolf’s Island by Darren Shan

Wolf’s Island is the eight book in the ten book long series The Demonata series by Darren Shan, who also wrote the Cirque du Freak series.  This is the second major book series he has written, also about the supernatural, but while the Cirque du Freak was about vampires, The Demonata is about demons and werewolves.

Also, the first half of the series has been told in a non-linear format, with the first four books told by three different protagonists (Grubbs Grady, Kernel Fleck, and Bec) from different time periods that are all part of the same mystical weapon called the Kah-Gash, which can be used to destroy the entire demon universe.

Lord Loss, Slawter, Blood Beast, Demon Apocalypse and Wolf’s Island are all told from the point of view of Grubbs Grady, a teenager whose parents were killed by demons in an attempt to cure his sister of lycanthropy, a curse that has been affecting his family every since an unfortunate union with a demon thousands of years earlier, and has been affecting Grubbs himself since Blood Beast, the fifth book in the series.

Demon Thief, the second book of the series, was told by Kernal Fleck, a teenager who has the power to see magical lights that could open portals to the demonic universe and is currently in the service of the ancient magician, Beranabus, the reluctant leader of the mage group dedicated to fighting demons, The Disciples.

Bec and Death’s Shadow were told through the point of view of Bec, a young priestess from thousands of years in the past, and sacrificed herself to stop demons from passing through a tunnel. This tunnel was later opened by Grubb’s younger brother, the now deceased Bill-E, thousands of years later, which prompted her soul to take over Bill-E’s body and return to the modern world to once again stop the demons from destroying humanity.


Wolf’s Island ties in the story line of the Grady curse, which was a plot point that pretty much only revolved around Grubbs, which is why it makes sense that only his books deal with it (Though Bec did touch on it, as Bec is one of Grubbs ancestors, though she herself was unaffected by the curse). I really did like how this book tied the Lambs and lycanthropy plot points very well, despite the fact that they seemed to have nothing to do with the main plot.


This also begins kind of in the middle of Death’s Shadow, which was told in the point of view of Bec, who was attacked by werewolves at the beginning of her book. Bec, along with Grubbs’s uncle, Dervish Grady, and Meera Flame, a family friend meet up with Grubbs, Kernal, and Beranabus, who were off trying to figure out what the uniquely terrifying monster at the end of Demon Apocalypse was. Once Grubbs finds out that someone is using werewolves as attack dogs, he, along with Meera and another Disciple, Shark, decides to leave the group to figure out what was going on.

This leads them to the main complex run by the Lambs, a group of family members that are affected by the Grady curse and try to use science instead of magic to cure it (which in all honesty has done less to cure the werewolves than magic has, but still, it’s a valiant effort). They are also used as executioners for family members whose children have turned.

When they get to the compound, Grubbs and his team find out that the Lambs haven’t quite been honest with what they were doing with the werewolves, and learns that the leader of the Lambs has become involved with demons. While trying to stop him and save members of his family from a horrible fate, Grubbs himself changes to what he was meant to be all along, and learns more about his fate and how it ties into the world around him.


This, as did Death’s Shadow, felt like another middle of the series book, though this one had more of an identity than the last one did.  It felt very much like an action adventure, since a good majority of the book was breaking into the Lambs complex and figuring out the plot that went on there. All in all, it was a very enjoyable read.


Rating: 7 out of 10.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: