Small Prince Art

Updates Thursdays

The Mortal Instruments Book 6: City of Heavenly Fire

City of heavently fire    The Mortal Instruments Book 6: City of Heavenly Fire


City of Heavenly Fire is the sixth and final book in The Mortal Instruments series, along with City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, and City of Lost Souls. It is set in Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter universe, along with The Infernal Devices series.

The Mortal Instruments was originally a trilogy consisting of City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass. It was later expanded into a sextet once Clare decided to expand the Shadowhunter world into several trilogies. The Infernal Devices is a spin off trilogy set in the 1800s and ties into The Mortal Instruments at times.

There are also two more upcoming spin off trilogies: The Dark Artifices, consisting of Lady Midnight (which comes out Fall 2015), The Prince of Shadows, and The Queen of Air and Darkness, and, The Last Hours trilogy, consisting of Chain of Thorns, Chain of Gold, and Chain of Iron, which will publish as a tie in series with The Dark Artifices. The publish order is as follows:

DA: Lady Midnight (Fall 2015)

LH: Chain of Thorns

DA: The Prince of Shadows

LH: Chain of Gold

DA: The Queen of Air and Darkness

LH: Chain of Iron

When I was looking around the website, I found something called The Secret Treasons, which looks like it might be another book or trilogy, but I didn’t find any other information about it other than the name.

There are also three companion books: one of which is a companion guide to the Shadowhunter world: The Shadowhunter Codex, which came out in 2013. There is also Shadowhunters and Downworlders: A Mortal Instruments Guide, which contains essays written by several other prominent YA authors, including Holly Black (one of the writers of the Spiderwick Chronicles and the author the Modern Tales of Faerie series, which has been featured on this blog), Rachel Caine (author of The Morgansville Vampires series), and Kami Garcia (author of the Beautiful Creatures series).

Also, there is a series of short stories written by Cassandra Clare and some of her writer friends available on eBook called The Bane Chronicles. This series stars one of the most popular character in the series, Magnus Bane. A printed collection of the stories will hit be available this November, and will be featured on this blog.

Finally, Clare and her friend she has co-written before, Holly Black, known best for The Spiderwick Chronicles, are working on another set of books, The Magisterium Series, the first of which comes out September 9th, 2014. I haven’t decided if I’m going to review it yet, but I am at least going to take a look at it.


The book opens with the introduction of the major players of The Dark Artifices series, Emma Carstairs and Jules Blackthorn, who are currently about 12 years old. They live with their parents at the Los Angeles Institute when they get attacked by Sebastian Morganstern and his army of Dark Shadowhunters. Emma and Jules escape with Jules younger siblings, but their parents are killed and Jules’ half-fae older brother gets taken by the Wild Hunt, a group of faeries that exist outside the Courts.

This is one of the first of Sebastian Morganstern’s, the main bad guy of this part of the series and the protagonist’s evil older brother, attacks on the Nephilim (also called Shadowhunters). He completely decimates the Institutes, and anyone he doesn’t kill is forced to join his army of Dark Shadowhunters, who fights with infernal magic instead of divine magic like normal Shadowhunters. It is also very clear that he has very powerful demons on his side

Not only that, but Sebastian has also started to attack any Downworlder (fae, werewolves, vampires, and warlocks allies of the Shadowhunters, which starts to damage the already turmulous peace between the Downworlders and the Shadowhunters, as some Downworlders are starting to think that siding against the Nephilim may be best for them.

Shortly after one of his attacks, Sebastian Morganstern gives the Shadowhunter Clave a message: he will stop the attacks against them, if they hand over Clary and her boyfriend, Jace Lightwood, who was raised by Sebastian and Clary’s birth father, Valentine, who was the main villain in the first trilogy, over to him.

The Clave isn’t inclined to sacrificed their non-adult members to sociopaths, which means that it’s up to Clary, Jace, and their friends to figure out how to defeat Sebastian before he completely obliterates their people.

In the sixth and final installment of The Mortal Instruments series, the beloved characters must travel to the most unlikeliest of places, face dangerous foes, and most terrifyingly of all, talk to each other about their feelings. Long time readers will not want to miss this dynamite ending to a pretty good urban fantasy.


This is probably Clare’s best to date. There were many twists and turns, and the ending felt much more satisfying than the original ending in City of Glass. We got closure for many of the beloved characters of the series, particularly Alec Lightwood and Magnus Bane. City of Glass ended with Alec finally coming to terms with his sexuality and his relationship with Magnus Bane, which was a great ending for his story arc, but his character and their relationship is much more fleshed out in the second story arc and deals with the downsides of falling in love with someone who is immortal.

Also, Isabelle Lightwood’s, Alec’s younger sister, is much more fleshed out in the second arc. For most of the first arc, she was pretty much a decent supporting character, and was very much in the background. In the more recent books her relationship with Simon has been a major plot line, along with her dealing with some of the emotional baggage brought on by her parent’s dissolving relationship and the death of her younger brother by the hands of Sebastian.

All in all, it was a very good end to a very good series. To be honest, the first trilogy can be cringe worthy at times, but the second trilogy is really where the good points shine through. You probably could read the second trilogy on its own, though you would miss the introductions to many of the major players of the series and the world the series takes place. Also, you technically don’t have to read The Infernal Devices to keep up with the plot, though I do recommend it since there are some characters crossover from one series to the other.

One thing City of Heavenly Fire did that the books before it did not was integrate the characters of the next story arc fully into the current story arc. Emma and Jules, the main characters of The Dark Artifices

Rating: 9 out of 10.

Leave a comment »